2011 Rue Goldston

2012 Bryce Copeland

2013 Cal Pickel

2014 Will Robbins

2015 Tyler Carpenter

2016 Cole Copeland 

2017 Lameric Tucker

2018 Dylan Standifer

2019 Saylor Clark 

2020 Kins Hooper

2021 Aiden McClary

2022 Knox Watson




1991 Justin Carpenter

1992 Chris Robinson

1993 Jody Gann

1994 Todd Reece

1995 Travis Adams

         Damon Floyd

1996 Matt Graham

1997 Dee Moffett

1998 Jimmy Hoover

1999 Chad Smith

2000 Blake Morris

Sometimes careers are cut short at the height of greatness. Such was the case for Memphis State University Football Coach Rex Dockery, who died in 1983 at the young age of forty-one. Although we will never know what heights Dockery might have reached as head coach, we can celebrate the path and accomplishments which led him to Memphis State. A native of Cleveland, Tennessee, Dockery was an all-state guard for Bradley Central in 1959 where his jersey is retired, and went on to play football at UT. After graduation, he coached a few seasons on the high school level, including a number-three national ranking for his Morristown East team. Dockery then began a string of assistant coaching positions on the college level, first with UT, then at Georgia Tech and Vanderbilt, and finally with Texas Tech, where he ultimately was hired as head coach in 1978. His Texas Tech team had a fine season, and Dockery was honored as Coach of the Year in the Southwest Conference. In 1980 Dockery returned to Tennessee to take over at Memphis State University. He revitalized and rebuilt the football program and in 1983 was honored as the Metro Conference Coach of the Year. Sadly, only one week after receiving that title, Rex died in a plane crash. As testimony to the impact he had as a coach, the field at Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium in Memphis was named “Rex Dockery Field” in his memory. The Rex Dockery award is given annually by Johnny Mull (Coach Dockery's Nephew) to the Bradley Football Player who best exemplifies the character and work ethic that Coach Dockery lived by. 

1984 Scott Wade

1985 Jeff Westfield

1986 Brian Copeland

1987 Marc Taylor

1988 Jason Corum

1989 Kevin McGlamery

1990 Curt Crisp

2001 Cayce Camp

2002 Tyler Westmoreland

2003 Jacob Sluder

2005 Tyler McGuire

2006 James Douglas

2007 Timmy Lynn

2008 Tyler Green

2009 Blake McAmis

2010 Dewaun Massengill 

         Tucker Bolton

Rex Dockery Award